Board of Directors

Board of Directors

  • Eric Briesemeister | Chair
    CEO, Jones Regional Medical Center, Anamosa
  • Becky Anthony | Vice-Chair
    Retired Senior Vice President, Iowa Hospital Association
  • Kim Burdakin | Secretary
    Liver Recipient
  • Michael Hensch | Treasurer
    Retired Executive Director, Johnson County Board of Supervisors
  • Dale Meyer
    Funeral Director, Meyer Brothers Funeral Homes
  • Dennis Klein, MD
    Chief Medical Examiner for the State of Iowa
  • Kalpaj Parekh, MD
    Thoracic Surgeon, UIHC
  • Laura Wenman
    Retired Hospital Administrator, MercyOne Des Moines
  • Olivia Thompson
    Retired CFO, AlloSource
  • Stephen Donahoe
    President, Clipse Therapeutics
  • Tammi Erb, CFO
    Goodwill of the Heartland
  • Tara McEnany, DNP, ARNP
    Chief Nursing Officer, Buchanan County Health Center
  • Thomas DePrenger
    Vice President, Principal Gifts, The University of Iowa Foundation
  • Troy DeJoode
    Executive Director, IA Association of Municipal Utilities, Donor Family Member
  • Nick Weig
    Reporter, Iowa News Now, Kidney Recipient
  • Tahuanty Peña, MD
    Transplant Pulmonologist, UIHC
  • Amber Battani
    Director of Business Development, Core Construction, Living Kidney Donor
  • Suzanne Conrad | Ex Officio
    Chief Executive Officer
  • Kevin Doerschug, MD | Ex Officio
    IDN Medical Director
  • Samantha Danielson, MD | Ex Officio
    IDN Medical Director
  • Dr. Priya Manay | Ex Officio
    Surgical Director

Medical Advisory Committee

  • Jonathan Simmons, DO | Chair
    Critical Care Physician, UIHC
  • Jim Springer | Vice-Chair
    VP, OPO and Hospital Relations, SeaStar Medical
  • Adam Stockman
    Director of Clinical Operations, Iowa Lions Eye Bank
  • Anthony Panos, MD
    Cardiovascular Transplant Surgeon, UIHC
  • Dan Katz, MD
    Abdominal Transplant Surgeon, VA Medical Center, Iowa City
  • Julie Tuel, RN, BSN, CCRN-CMS, SCRN
    Unit Nursing Director, Neuro-Trauma-Medical, MercyOne, Des Moines
  • Qasim Chaudhry, MD
    Kidney Transplant Surgeon, UnityPoint Health, Des Moines
  • Bette Schwager, RN
    Donor Family Member
  • Louis Katz, MD
    Chief Medical Officer of Impact Life
  • David Axelrod, MD
    Abdominal Transplant Surgeon, UIHC
  • Robert Struthers, MD
    Neurologist, PCI Cedar Rapids
  • Christine Bishop, PhD
    Chief of Laboratory Services, Midwest Transplant Network
  • Emily Bloomberg
    Chief Operating Officer, UIHC
  • Suzanne Conrad | Ex Officio
    Chief Executive Officer
  • Sarah Fewell | Ex Officio
    Chief Clinical Officer

Our Vision:

All are inspired to donate life.